Books I Read in 2015

The end of the year is a time when we look back at what we’ve accomplished, as well as look forward to find our goals for the coming year. Last year, my goal was to read more nonfiction. Now, I realize that different people have different ideas of what qualifies as books, but I count all fiction and nonfiction and do not discriminate against any particular format. So while one of my friendly local libraries does not count graphic novels as “books” when it comes to reading contests, other libraries actually put “read a graphic novel” as one of the squares on their reading bingo cards (yes, that is a thing). I’m happy to say that I’ve more than reached my goal for 2015.

In fact, I discovered something odd. I tried something new this year, in that I put down reading many more books that didn’t engage my interest quickly enough for my taste. I don’t believe in forcing myself to read a bad or boring book when there are so many good books that I’ll never have the time to read, and even then I still reread my favorites! By deciding to do this, I gave myself permission to break out of my literary comfort zone because I didn’t feel guilty about not finishing a book that didn’t grab me. I also began experimenting with reading more than one book at a time, even though I was worried about dividing my attention between more than one storyline. And do you know what happened? I read more books this year than before! I discovered others that I might not have tried because they would have been too daunting, and some I even decided to read further and found out I liked them after all.

In other news, I’ve done a few other personal projects. I’ve helped edit a charity anthology, finished editing my 2012 Nanowrimo novel for submission to an agent (just need to finish that final bit of formatting), and contributed to a few other sites. I began recording readings for Librivox, which was another one of my resolutions from last year. If you are unfamiliar with Librivox they are a site, run by volunteers, that makes free public domain audiobooks available for download to the public. If you don’t want to read, you can also volunteer to do other things such as be a proof listener or organizer. It’s great!

As always, I rely heavily on my local libraries. Another library service I’ve used heavily this year is the Overdrive app for downloading digital library materials. It’s completely free. Just install the app onto your phone (at no cost), find your library (or in my case, libraries), type in your library card, and search their online database! It’s incredibly easy, and the downloads I didn’t buy were mostly checked out via this service. Another way I’ve discovered to consume your local libraries’ online content is via Hoopla. However, Hoopla also offers movies and television shows!

Since the list is longer this year, I’m simply going to write the titles of the books. I know there are plenty of people that have much longer lists, but I’m pretty happy with the literary content I’ve consumed this year, both for quality and quantity. Most of these were downloaded online, though a select few were physically checked out from the library. For your visual ease, I am color coding according to how I consumed the book.

Ebooks (novels, non fiction, & graphic novels): Red

Audiobooks: Blue

Physical books: Green

So without further ado:

 

  1. Unbound (Magic Ex Libris) by Jim C. Hines
  2. Engines of War (Doctor Who) by George Mann
  3. Afterlife with Archie: volume 1  (graphic novel)
  4. Marvel Civil War (graphic novel)
  5. Muse of Fire by Dan Simmons
  6. Ragnarok by C. Gockel
  7. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
  8. Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal
  9. The Fire Bringers by C. Gockel
  10. Hair Raising by Kevin J. Anderson
  11. The Walking Dead and Philosophy by various authors
  12. The Clockwise Man (Doctor Who) by Justin Richards
  13. The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier
  14. The Universe in a Single Atom by His Holiness the Dalai Lama
  15. Small Gods by Terry Pratchett
  16. Dead Air (Doctor Who) by James Goss
  17. Old School by Tobias Wolff
  18. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
  19. Last Chance to See by Douglas Adams
  20. The Blood Cell by James Goss
  21. Silhouette (Doctor Who) by Justin Richards
  22. The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige
  23. Overclocked by Cory Doctorow
  24. Shada (Doctor Who) by Gareth Roberts, based on material from the Douglas Adams screenplay
  25. 1984 by George Orwell
  26. The Buddhist Catechism by H. S. Olcott
  27. Don’t Mess with Travis by Bob Smiley
  28. A Honeymoon in Space by George Griffith
  29. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  30. Counter-Clock World by Philip K. Dick
  31. Blink (beta read) by Larry Kollar
  32. Descent (The Walking Dead) by Jay Bonansinga
  33. The Giver by Lois Lowry
  34. Gather Blue (The Giver series) by Lois Lowry
  35. Messenger (The Giver series) by Lois Lowry
  36. Son (The Giver series) by Lois Lowry
  37. Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy by Karen Abbott
  38. On the Duty of Civil Disobedience by Henry David Thoreau
  39. Revolutions of Terror (a Doctor Who graphic novel)
  40. Dark Disciple (Star Wars) by Christie Golden
  41. Pest Control (Doctor Who) by Peter Anghelides
  42. The Last Voyage by Dan Abnett
  43. The Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Leveen
  44. Juliet’s Nurse by Lois Leveen
  45. The Abundance of Nothing (poetry) by Bruce Weigl
  46. The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
  47. You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost) by Felicia Day
  48. Flush by Carl Hiassan
  49. Fairest: Levana’s Story by Marissa Meyer
  50. A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway
  51. The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
  52. Short Non-Fiction Collection, volume 038 by various authors
  53. The Walking Dead, volume 1 (graphic novel)
  54. The Walking Dead, volume 2 (graphic novel)
  55. The Walking Dead, volume 3 (graphic novel)
  56. The Walking Dead, volume 4 (graphic novel)
  57. The Walking Dead, volume 5 (graphic novel)
  58. 100 Favorite English and Irish Poems, edited by C. C. Strowbridge
  59. The Walking Dead, volume 6 (graphic novel)
  60. The Walking Dead, volume 7 (graphic novel)
  61. The Walking Dead, volume 8 (graphic novel)
  62. The Walking Dead, volume 9 (graphic novel)
  63. The Walking Dead, volume 10 (graphic novel)
  64. The Walking Dead, volume 11 (graphic novel)
  65. The Walking Dead, volume 12 (graphic novel)
  66. The Walking Dead, volume 13 (graphic novel)
  67. The Walking Dead, volume 14 (graphic novel)
  68. The Walking Dead, volume 15 (graphic novel)
  69. The Walking Dead, volume 16 (graphic novel)
  70. The Walking Dead, volume 17 (graphic novel)
  71. The Walking Dead, volume 17 (graphic novel)
  72. The Walking Dead, volume 18 (graphic novel)
  73. The Walking Dead, volume 19 (graphic novel)
  74. The Walking Dead, volume 20 (graphic novel)
  75. The Walking Dead, volume 21 (graphic novel)
  76. The Walking Dead, volume 22 (graphic novel)
  77. The Walking Dead, volume 23 (graphic novel)
  78. Where Angels Fear to Tread by E. M. Forster
  79. The Stepsister Scheme by Jim C. Hines
  80. The Walking Dead, volume 24 (graphic novel)
  81. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  82. Common Sense by Thomas Paine
  83. Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris
  84. Star Wars: Aftermath by Chuck Wendig
  85. Wonder Woman: Volume 1- Blood (graphic novel)
  86. Dragon Magic by Eric J. Krause
  87. Wonder Woman: Volume 2- Guts (graphic novel)
  88. Wonder Woman: Volume 3- Iron (graphic novel)
  89. Wonder Woman Unbound by Tim Hanley (nonfiction)

So, all twenty-four of The Walking Dead graphic novels made a huge chunk of my list, but I’m happy to say I’m completely caught up with the series–with the exception of the individual printed comics that will be included in the next graphic novel. However, that doesn’t come out until next year! I’m not worried; there’s plenty more material from the franchise to consume while I wait. I also joined Audible this year, so in addition to listening to free audiobooks I’ve also begun listening to some that would have otherwise been hard to acquire.

Another binge that my libraries have helped me indulge in is Wonder Woman. I began reading Wonder Woman Unbound, a nonfiction book about the history of Wonder Woman: her history as a comic heroine, her social influences, her historical impact, and her status today as a feminist icon. Wonder Woman has always been my favorite heroine, because she’s the only one that isn’t a direct product of a male hero. I can remember playing Wonder Woman as a little girl, even though my cousin had a really cool batman belt, because I didn’t want to be Batgirl– I wanted to be Wonder Woman. Anyway, I’ve always found her comics hard to get into because I never knew where to start reading, so I thought the nonfiction book would clue me in. And it did. I am currently reading Wonder Woman Chronicles: Volume 1, and plan on continuing my Amazonian binge well into the new year!

I would have liked to hit an even hundred on my list, just because it’s an even number and I’d like the bragging rights, but I have things to do today; I doubt I’m going to finish eleven more books by midnight! However, I am halfway through listening to Stephen Batchelor’s Confession of a Buddhist Atheist, I just started listening to Robert Repino’s Mort(e), still dipping into a paperback reread of William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher, and reading an ebook copy of The Autobiography of James T Kirk.

I don’t have any reading resolutions for the new year except to keep up the pacing and diversity of my new reading schedule. As far as other resolutions, the only thing I can think of is to not let my craft room pile up like it did this year. I’ve spent the past three days cleaning it, and my back is not happy about that!

What did you read this past year? What do you plan to read in the next? Do you have any resolutions? Please share them with me, and have a Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

