Current Events: Update for August 12th, 2016.

1398222_10152596667338585_6830532591610476838_o.jpg

Greetings!

I just wanted to give you a quick update on what’s been going on and what to expect from this blog in future posts.

This week I had planned on writing a summary of lessons learned at the recent INKubator conference I attended on July 30th, but due to other commitments I have had to delay that post another week. One happy commitment was a family vacation we took last week; we visited my favorite bookstore, The Book Loft (32 rooms of literary bliss!); our favorite restaurant, Banana Leaf; and went on daily hikes in the Hocking Hills area near Old Man’s Cave. Surrounded by natural beauty and isolated by a lack of both cell phone reception and Internet, I did a lot a (non ebook) reading as well as other homely activities. I returned home with a notebook full of ideas and rough drafts. It’s amazing what a week without Twitter can do.

In the past few weeks, I’ve finished several books. I’ve been experimenting with reading multiple books at the same time, with mixed success. I finished listening to an audiobook of Darth Plagueis, which was well done, but I thought the ending was too ambiguous to be satisfying. I alternated between listening and reading the text of Poets’ Corner, compiled by John Lithgow; I highly recommend doing both if you have both the text and audiobooks available through your local library. That exposed me to a few poets I wanted to read further, so I read Renascence and Other Poems by Edna St. Vincent Millay. I am currently halfway through another collection of her work, A Few Figs from Thistles.

Incidently, Poets’ Corner was recommended by the instructor at the last Literary Cleveland Poetry Workshop. If you are in the area this Saturday, you should drop by the Cleveland Main Library and attend the August meeting. You won’t regret it.

Also, our family has had some personal issues going on this week, and I’ve been juggling to get things in order. Nothing exciting has happened, just lots of stuff to do. So, yes, I plan on having a fresh post next week about the conference, and I have plenty of ideas for new flash stories and poems in the coming months. If you have read this far, thank you–both for your patience and for visiting my blog! Have a lovely week.

2 thoughts on “Current Events: Update for August 12th, 2016.

  1. Sounds familiar! I finished (writing) three books almost at the same time over the summer, and (as you know) the betas are about to go out. 🙂 I’m going to try tackling that this weekend. We also had vacation, school preps, and the usual family issues piled into the mix.

    So INKubator is a writing conference? I’ll be interested to see how that went.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

